The Homey Vibe of Contemporary Office Design 0

The Homey Vibe of Contemporary Office Design

Trends in interior design affect not just the various rooms in houses and apartments, but in offices as well. The way that people work affects their work environment, so it stands to reason that changes in people’s work methods will result in changes in their office interiors and furnishings.

Perhaps the most conspicuous trend in workplace design and office furnishings is the increasing preference for people to personalize their own workspace and furnishings. Workers today prefer the casual and homey atmosphere similar to how relaxed they feel at home.

Reasons for a Homier Office

So what accounts for these changes? Several reasons have been proposed for this trend:

  • The preference for a more casual vibe in office design is consistent with the current tendency for more casual office wear. For more than a decade now, many new companies have tolerated IT pros and creative who wear jeans and shirts—i.e., the clothes they wear at home.
  • Many workers either worked at home at a second job or as their primary workplace. Now that they’re back at a corporate office, they wish to recreate that familiar atmosphere.
  • People are working longer hours, so it’s extremely crucial that they’re in a comfortable space.
  • Workers wish to express more of their personality in every facet of their lives, and that includes the office. They don’t want to be just one of the worker drones.

What Do Modern Workers Want in a Modern Office?

The answer to this question depends on where the workers are located. For the US workers, here are some details about the balance of work and life that have been uncovered by recent surveys:

  • US workers are more likely to eat lunch at their desks. Consequently, they need larger tables where they can put their food and eat even while working.
  • American office workers also tend to store their workout clothes in their offices. This is a way that makes their schedules flow more efficiently. This is a trend that’s not just predominant in the US, but all over the world.
  • Despite the ubiquity of high tech mobile equipment and digital files, analog office items are still popular. People want their desks to have enough space where they can put their pens, notebooks, stationery, and other similar supplies. About 80% of surveyed workers have this attitude, which explains the enduring popularity of office desks with pen holders and drawers for papers.
  • However, there’s one practice in traditional offices that haven’t changed for modern workplaces. Office workers still want to decorate their workspace with personal mementos. Workers, in general, put up pictures of their family, friends, and even pets wherever they can squeeze these photos in. These pictures just make people feel better, though it can be argued that it’s another aspect of how people want their office to feel like home.
  • Comfort is also another crucial factor. That’s why seating now is more comfortable while offices offer more warmth and cleaner lines. Colors in the office tend to be muted, with only occasional bursts of color here and there.

The future is bright ✨ #wework 📷: @interior_pw

A post shared by WeWork (@wework) on

Contemporary office design now emphasizes “making a life” instead of merely making a living. The lines between home and work are blurring more than ever before.

What a homier office away from home?  Check out WeWork, and here’s a deal you can try it out.

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Santa Monica, Culver City, Venice, Hollywood, and beyond
LAStartups.com is a digital lifestyle publication that covers the culture of startups and technology companies in Los Angeles. It is the go-to site for people who want to keep up with what matters in Los Angeles’ tech and startups from those who know the city best.
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Santa Monica, Culver City, Venice, Hollywood, and beyond
LAStartups.com is a digital lifestyle publication that covers the culture of startups and technology companies in Los Angeles. It is the go-to site for people who want to keep up with what matters in Los Angeles’ tech and startups from those who know the city best.

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Top 10 Recruiting Firms in Los Angeles 0

Top 10 Recruiting Firms in Los Angeles

Think about the last time you were looking for a job. It was probably stressful and you spent countless hours scouring through pages and pages for job listings, only to find it either filled or you do not qualify for it.

Fortunately, there are ways to make the process smoother: a recruiter! And, the best way to find the right recruiter for your needs is either through referral or networking. But, recruiting agencies aren’t one-size-fits-all, start by researching the industries in which the agency specializes. Once you’ve found the agency that fits your industry, location, and level, reach out to them. A good recruiter is very active on LinkedIn and has their profiles well-developed. That means you should take the time to research who you’re dealing with.

Los Angeles has some of the very best recruiters in town; many were referred to us through networking. Here’s a list of the top recruiting firms in Los Angeles to make it a little easier on you.

  1. Neohire South, founded by Josh Stomel in 2007, a boutique recruiting firm focusing on early-stage tech startups.  Neohire applies years of industry experience to assess and curate its talent pool – connecting only top-notch tech candidates with the most exciting startups in the industry. Whether you’re building your team or searching for a job you love, Neohire should be your first stop.
  2. PeopleWare Staffing, founded in 1993 by Sheryl Rooker and her husband; a leading contract and full-time placement agency specializing in the technology industry.  For two decades, PeopleWare has provided outstanding service to employers and job seekers around El Segundo, and beyond. Through its unique H²R (High-Hit Recruiting) process, they have achieved among the highest ratios of candidates presented-to-hired in the technology staffing industry. Successful recruiting requires experience, knowledge, training, ethics, and specific skills. PeopleWare employs all of these traits in its H²R process.
  3. Putnam Recruiting, El Segundo based recruiting firm founded by Wes Putnam in 2009. Putnam Recruiting specializes in full-time and project-based recruiting for professionals in the tech space. Its extensive network, proprietary candidate database, and thorough screening process ensure their clients are being presented with the best talent in the market. Putnam Recruiting work with over 100 reputable companies, the majority of which are based in Southern California.
  4. Safire Partners is a tech executive search firm founded by Todd Gitlin in Southern California with a rapidly expanding national footprint. Safire Partners work primarily with emerging growth companies; ranges from disruptive venture-backed companies to multi-billion dollar public enterprises.
  5. The Workshop LA is a full-service fashion recruiting agency based in Venice, California founded in 2015. Its’ client roster consists of cutting-edge, Los Angeles based fashion companies ranging from start-ups to some of the biggest in the business. Audrey Okulick is the founder and owner of The Workshop LA.  She started the agency in 2015 after working for 10+ years in the fashion industry both in New York and Los Angeles.  She is the girl who had a million jobs when she was first starting out and understands first-hand how challenging it can be to find a career fit.
  6. Irvine Technology Corporation (ITC) is an award-winning Information Technology Solutions and Staffing provider with roots in Southern California. ITC’s team is comprised of seasoned technologists, staffing industry thought leaders, top-notch recruiters, dedicated account executives, and a world-class support staff.
  7. CyberCoders is a leading permanent placement recruiting firm. Through its innovative technology and efficient recruiters, CyberCoders helps find the right candidate fast. There is over 11,000+ job listing on its website.
  8. Cadre is a leading recruiting firm founded by Jason Stomel in 2009; specializing in tech startups in Santa Monica. Cadre focuses primarily on technical roles including software engineering, software development, and product design.
  9. Prosum is one of the fasted growing IT consulting and information technology solutions companies in the Los Angeles area. Prosum provides business solutions for technology consulting and IT staffing.
  10. Signal Partners is a search firm founded by Tim Smith; a purpose-built firm ready to help companies find and attract force-multiplying talent at all levels. Signal Partners has led hundreds of retained searches for PE- and venture-backed companies and drive a bespoke process for both executive and mission-critical non-executive positions. Some of the cool companies Signal Partners works with were SnapChat, GitHub, Yext, Houzz, Tinder, Tastemade, and many others.

Author Details
Editor-In-Chief
A native Angeleno. John studied engineering at UCLA; founded Schmoozd, an offline social tech networking event in LA with 30,000 subs; ran a startup accelerator (StartEngine). Worked for several major brands like Toyota, DIRECTV, Hitachi, and Raytheon. A mentor at LMU Entrepreneur School. And advises a dozen of local LA startups building amazing tech in various industries; also invested in some.
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Editor-In-Chief
A native Angeleno. John studied engineering at UCLA; founded Schmoozd, an offline social tech networking event in LA with 30,000 subs; ran a startup accelerator (StartEngine). Worked for several major brands like Toyota, DIRECTV, Hitachi, and Raytheon. A mentor at LMU Entrepreneur School. And advises a dozen of local LA startups building amazing tech in various industries; also invested in some.

7 Ways to Prove Local SEO ROI for Your Business 0

7 Tips to Prove Local SEO ROI for Your Business

Local SEO is how local businesses can reach their prospective customers. Like traditional SEO, it involves a series of calculated steps to improve ranking in the search engines. A number one ranking is where you will get the biggest return on your investment, but number 1 rankings cannot be guaranteed and will certainly not happen overnight.

That’s why I want to show you a few things you can look at to see how well your local SEO efforts are performing. It can get discouraging if you don’t see ranking improvements, but that doesn’t mean the work being done is for nothing.

1. Track Ranking on Search Engines

Watch for changes in ranking for any of the keywords you are targeting. If you see a major change in rank, you know you’re getting a decent return on your investment. Take screenshots to show the changes in ranking so it is easier to demonstrate ROI to investors.

Ranking changes will likely increase slowly over time, but progress is being made. If you can increase your ranking quickly, this is wonderful, but will only make a difference in the long run if you can sustain the higher rank.

2. Track Calls from Leads

Using call tracking software, you can have your leads call a different phone number based on where they are coming to your website from. Your tracking system will connect with analytics and count it as a conversion. And attribute it back to the source.

Though this could be helpful, it’s important to display a consistent business phone number across the web because not doing so can affect your ranking negatively. Code your business phone number into your site using schema and monitor your local citations to make sure you’re talking numbers are not being picked up elsewhere.

If you notice calls are picking up, you know your efforts are working. If calls from a certain number are doing better than others, then you know that’s where you want to focus more of your efforts and budget.

3. Make Google Search Console Your Best Friend

  • Pay attention to Click-Through Rate (CTR): You’ll be able to tell if you’re getting more clicks on your targeted keywords than you use to. This matters because it lets you know that your traffic is clicking through you your website. If you’re not seeing improvement, rewrite the title tags on your site.
  • Keep an eye on search queries: Monitor the search queries that are bringing traffic to your website. Copy the data into a spreadsheet so you can watch for changes. Even if you don’t see a change in ranking yet, an uptick in traffic from certain phrases can show your SEO efforts are working.
  • For detail information about Google Search Console, head on over here.

4. Make Google Analytics Your Best Friend, Too

  • Track link interactions: Find out which links people are clicking on, and if they’re using the click to call button on their mobile devices. Set up event tracking in Google Analytics for more insights.
  • Find your most popular traffic sources: After people fill out a contact form, redirect them to a Thank you page. This way you can learn where your traffic is coming from, and you’ll know which methods are working so you can invest more of your resources on those.

5. Use the Google My Business Dashboard

You’ll be able to track impressions on your listings here, so you can see what kind of results you’re getting from the Map Pack. Since you can only go back 90 days, you’ll want to copy the data into a spreadsheet so you can watch for historical trends.

6. Use Year-Over-Year Comparisons if Necessary

If you’re in a seasonal business, comparing traffic on a month to month basis isn’t going to give you an accurate picture of what’s going on. Rely on the same month in the previous year to see how much you’ve grown.

7. Use These Simple Formulas for Calculating ROI

Anticipated ROI – What You Expect to Earn

To calculate this, you must know:

  • Average monthly visits – from Google Analytics
  • E-Commerce conversion rate – also from Google Analytics if you’ve set up Goals and Conversion tracking
  • Average order value (AOV) – Total amount of revenue divided by the total amount of orders

Let’s say your website gets an average of 60,000 visits and has a 1% e-commerce conversion rate. Your AOV is $100. Let’s say the proposed SEO project cost is $15,000. To break even, you must make at least $15,000 extra, and to generate a profit, you must produce a substantial amount of sales.

To determine the number of additional orders required for that breakeven point, you’d divide that $15,000 by the average order value of 100. You’d need 150 orders to break even.

Now, you need to determine the additional traffic required to generate those orders.

Take the number of orders required to break even and divide it by the e-commerce conversion rate. 150/1% = 15,000 additional traffic.

To deliver a decent ROI, you should double that traffic volume and aim to drive 30,000 visitors with the campaign.

At this point, we can expect to get 200 orders through the SEO efforts, which would result in $30,000 in sales – creating a 100% ROI meaning for X, you’ll earn 2X.

Actual ROI – What You Earned

Your actual ROI is the total e-commerce revenue through SEO + the total goal value through SEO – the cost of running the SEO campaign/cost of running the SEO campaign.

Let’s say you ran that $15,000 campaign and ended up with $35,000 in sales. You got a bit more than 100% ROI.

You can also use another formula:

  • K = volume of keywords searched
  • S = % of searchers who became visitors
  • D = % of visitors who became leads
  • C = % of leads who become customers
  • V = average customer value
  • L = Local SEO revenue

(K) x (S) x (C) x (V) = L

ROI = (L – Cost) / Cost

Let’s say 7,500 people search for “Carlsbad plumber” every month. Only a small percentage of these searches will end up on your site. The percentage, of course, depends on where you rank. If you are higher on the 1st page, you’ll end up with a larger portion of those visits.

So, let’s take a look at what you could expect if you were at the bottom of page one compared to what you could expect if you were in the number 1 position for that keyword phrase.

In position 10, you can expect to earn about 3% of the search traffic. Of that hypothetical 7,500, that’s 225 visitors. If you rank lower than that, you can expect even less traffic.

But, if you were in position one, you could expect to earn about 40% of the traffic for that keyword which means you would get 3,000 visitors. It’s clear that it pays more to rank higher.

To keep the math simple, let’s assume that 5% of visitors in both ranking positions become leads since the vast majority of people who visit your website won’t take the time to contact you at all. Now you’ve got 12 leads (rounding up) at position 10, and 150 leads at position 1.

We know that not every single lead will convert to a paying customer. Let’s assume that only 20% of those leads become paying customers. And position 10, you’d get 3 (rounding up) customers and in position one, you’d get 30.

If your average customer value is $200, you produced $600 in revenue in position 10 and $6,000 in position one.

If you’re spending a $750 a month in SEO services, and you’re left with $5,250 profit in the number one position and $150 loss in the number 10 position.

For every dollar you’re spending on SEO, you are earning $7 in return in the number one position. Though I’ve chosen completely arbitrary numbers, if you were in position 10 in this scenario, you would be losing money – 20 cents on every dollar – and therefore would need to increase your average customer value to make it worth it. If you spent less on your SEO, it would make it more difficult to increase your ranking quickly.

Knowing ROI is Important

Local SEO ROI can be found in many different ways. It’s important to look at the overall picture and focus on multiple metrics to see how well you’re doing. Choosing just one metric can skew your results.

Author Details
SEO virtuoso and CEO at Sachs Marketing Group. Always focused on being of service to business owners, to help better position them in the eyes of their audiences.
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SEO virtuoso and CEO at Sachs Marketing Group. Always focused on being of service to business owners, to help better position them in the eyes of their audiences.

6 LA Coffee Shops for Work and Meetings 0

These days, business men and women are utilizing coffee shops for work more and more. Whether you’re working remotely or looking for a fresh place to meet a client, here are 6 coffee shops for work and meetings if you’re working in the LA area.

Verve Coffee Roasters – West Hollywood

That morning light though.

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“Verve: the spirit and enthusiasm surrounding the creation of art,” goes to show their mission of not only creating another coffee shop but also a place of community. Although Verve’s prime location is on Melrose Avenue in West Hollywood, it was designed and inspired by street-level European coffee shops where people would gather to chit-chat over a morning espresso. To the Verve staff, coffee is more than just a drink to start the day with, but the instigator of social life. Verve’s unique communal interior design creates the perfect atmosphere for you to do work and also comfortably network and engage with those around you during work breaks. It is the perfect setting for collaborative meetings.

Verve’s farm-level initiative supports the communities that grow their coffee, maintaining ethical standards in the industry.

This cafe’s extremely minimalistic and industrial design sparks creativity and motivation. If you want some sun, there is also a peaceful, stylish outdoor patio area.

How is the coffee? Verve prides itself on its vintage roasters and unautomated processes – everything the cafe serves is made by hand.

The Essentials:

  • Meter spots are fairly easy to find, no designated parking
  • A little on the expensive side
  • Free Wi-Fi!

Intelligentsia Coffee – Venice

Keep it simple. 📸@lukasvanderlende

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If you are looking for a place to respond to emails or finish up some lighter work, then this constantly bubbling place is for you. In the center of Abbot Kinney, you can get some work done, then take a light stroll and treat yourself to some ice-cream at Salt & Straw just a few doors over. Its industrial design mimics the look of a laboratory; their coffee is like science! There is also outdoor, communal seating if you are in the mood for mingling with business partners or clients. The high energy of Intelligentsia makes it the perfect place for a more casual business meeting!

The Essentials:

  • Parking on Abbot Kinney, fairly difficult on weekends, no designated parking
  • A little on the expensive side
  • Free Wi-Fi!

Bulletproof Coffee – Santa Monica

This high-tech playground for coffee lovers is truly inspiring. From borosilicate glass beakers, to EMF blockers (limiting exposure to dirty electricity), to Circadian-compliant lighting – patrons are exposed to technologies they didn’t even know they needed. Bulletproof has implemented the hottest tech from the interior of the cafe to the machines it uses to brew its coffee. Not only is it a great place to work or have a meeting in, but it provides some extra education, which makes it easy to spark conversation topics!

The Essentials:

  • Street parking is fairly easy
  • A little on the expensive side
  • Free Wi-Fi!

Flowerboy Project – Venice

Lavender boys all day every day ☕️

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This hole-in-the-wall coffee shop also doubles as a flower boutique with exotic market-style flowers and unique design/fashion items. If you really want to spice up your meeting or just have some fun while doing work, try an iced rose or lavender infused latte (or you can get it without the caffeine just to enjoy the taste). There is pretty limited seating, so it’s best for a quick and casual meeting or to just pick up your drinks for a walk-and-talk meeting.

The Essentials:

  • Pretty convenient street parking out front
  • Reasonably priced
  • Free Wi-Fi!

Coffee Connection – West L.A.

If you are looking for something on the west side, this is the perfect place for you to study for the Bar exam, a calculus exam, or catch up on some LA Startups articles. You will always find this non-profit cafe jam-packed with students and people doing intense work – it’s pretty much dead silent (reminds me of a silent party). There is a full menu with a variety of dishes to choose from. Studying and work can really bring on the hunger! Seating is pretty difficult to find, but people are always coming and going, so it’s not impossible – most seating is outdoors in a large Italian-style patio area.

The Essentials:

  • Private parking lot in back
  • Reasonably priced
  • Free Wi-Fi!

Nature’s Brew – DTLA

Stay cool, stay caffeinated. #coffee #icedlatte #longweekend

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Located right in the heart of downtown Los Angeles, down the street from USC. You will be surrounded by hyper-focused university students and people doing intense collaborative work. Nature’s Brew is equipped with a full menu that you can easily go through over an entire day of work. If you want to lighten up a meeting, then you can even grab a locally brewed beer. It is usually pretty packed, but seating is not impossible to find (except maybe during finals week).

The Essentials:

  • Street parking in front is fairly easy
  • Reasonably priced
  • Free Wi-Fi!

Author Details
Editor, Cravingz
A Los Angeles ‘solopreneur’ combining her passions for food and tech through her startup, Cravingz app. Winner of two distinguished entrepreneur awards through the Fred Kiesner Center for Entrepreneurship at Loyola Marymount University.
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Editor, Cravingz
A Los Angeles ‘solopreneur’ combining her passions for food and tech through her startup, Cravingz app. Winner of two distinguished entrepreneur awards through the Fred Kiesner Center for Entrepreneurship at Loyola Marymount University.
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